MEETING HITCH – GARRY ARMSTRONG

SERENDIPITY

A friend just sent me a link to the Alfred Hitchcock Geek site. I didn’t follow it but was reminded of the night I met the master of mayhem.

I’ve always been a Hitchcock fan dating back to his early films like “The Lady Vanishes” and “The 39 Steps”. “Alfred Hitchcock Presents”, the TV series, was a family favorite.

frenzy poster

Flashback to a warm summer evening and the Boston première of “Frenzy.” I was psyched for the encounter and hoped I wouldn’t be disappointed. It happens.

The “Master” approached me, two drinks in his hands. I figured he was fortifying himself. But he handed me one of the drinks and said “Salud!”

Cognac! Top shelf stuff. I savored the aroma before taking a small sip.

“Good show!”, Hitch said approvingly.

“Good stuff”, I replied. We smiled at each other as we drank slowly. I noticed his face was very, very red. He snapped…

View original post 215 more words

Leave a Reply

